Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Feb. 24, 2006 - 5:59 P.M.

A friend was talking about us to his family - - the kidney transplant, Richard's death -- when his little boy asked his father if I would be given back the kidney I'd given my husband. I smiled after hearing the story. No, I was not offered it back but I was told by Dr. Cardi that "lil kidney" was still going strong when it was decided by me to withdraw the breathing machine and let nature take it's course.
I had asked if it could be re-transplanted into a person needing a kidney transplant but was told no because of the cancer that was spreading to all the organs.
I believe that our kidneys will find each other in Heaven-- Remember those magnetic Scottie Dogs when you were a kid? They came in a tiny cardboard matchbox and one was black and one was white. Place one on a smooth surface & push the other up to it from behind, or sweep the 2nd in a half circle around the 1st one and watch them twirl, play,and fight. Well, that is how the kidneys will find each other , in my opinion.
I miss him so much. I am not hungry and force myself to drink liquids to keep hydrated. I am glad that I am so old because it is less time until we are together. My father said hurtful things to me after the death (Alzheimer's makes them go for the jugular ! ) and I am just going to their house when necessary to take things to them and make it easier on my mother. So I am pretty much alone. Except for the dust bunnies that multiplied while I was gone.....

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!