Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Feb. 19, 2004 - 11:42 P.M.

I am happy to report that I continue to hear from future donors and it is exciting and wonderful to answer their questions and offer suggestions that I wish I had known before.
Here's a list of some things I wish I knew sooner, some apply to kidney transplant but all can apply to Life:

I wish I knew how to contact my Congressman for help with any problems regarding Medicare or Veteran's Administration:
Contact your Congressman HERE

I wish I knew the single most important way you can help to prevent errors in your health care :
Patient Tips

Kidneygurl's tips: Take your own Kleenex tissue with you to the hospital; hospital tissue is like sandpaper.

Take a pad of paper and a pen with you. Write on first page : Lawyer's name to call if they kill me.

Also take a phone book (you can leave it there but take a fresh one with you to the hospital)

Take lots of Dollar Store slippers and toiletries that you can use and toss.

Remind them to use a little care taping your eyes closed if necessary.

Remember to fill out comment cards as you receive good service AND bad. Pick up a handful and keep by your bed. Call patient representative if necessary but do voice concerns as they occur.

Ask everyone's name if you can't read their nametag and write it down on your pad of paper.

More to come later.......

"Discipline yourself for an unknown fate so that when your ultimately defining moment comes, you have done what it takes to be heroic." --Author Unknown.

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!