Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Aug. 19, 2005 - 6:17 P.M.

Dear Diaryland readers ,
For 3 years I have posted the details of our kidney transplant experience and our lives. I would not want to be anything less than completely honest about it. Even the painful parts that some would keep secret out of shame or embarrassment.
On August 16 , Richard suffered an episode from a combination of
medication withdrawl reaction and built up stress . One of his psychiatric medications was gradually reduced and then eliminated over the past 6 months.
The results were a disaster that led to him to becoming the first runaway kidney recipient leaving without warning while I slept and ending up in Albuquerque New Mexico ( which is the same place the runaway bride ended up after her bus ride from Atlanta, Ga. )

I am happy to report that Richard is recuperating in the VA Hospital in Albuquerque and I can't wait to fly there to get him after he is well again.

I applaud the efforts of the law enforcement that assisted in taking him there from the bus station and I appreciate their kind treatment .
I am also grateful for the news stations that carried the alert and showed his picture. Golf Manor Man Reported Critical Missing I have reminded myself that everything happens for a reason. I am trying to not beat myself up for not seeing the problem before it reached this point. I will continue to post as I recuperate too from the past 3 days of concern.
My Best, Kidneygurl

Sunday 8/21 : Just a little add on to let you know that I am coping and appreciate the support from everyone. I spoke with several officers by phone that evening and all were so professional and helpful that I am very saddened to read in the Alberquerque News Police Officers Richard W. Smith and Michael R. King were gunned down as they arrived to take a mentally ill patient to the hospital on the same night a few hours after Richard was transported. Funeral Services Scheduled For Slain Officers

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!