Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jul. 31, 2004 - 8:29 A.M.

This entry is directed to people who have had transplants but anyone may find it interesting reading because once again the mouth that roars has to roar:

On Monday, EGD was scheduled for early a.m. and co-ordinated to have 2000 mg amoxicillin given by iv drip . It was decided by Dr. Cardi that this would last through the tooth extraction at 2 p.m. Ok, that is simple enough right ? WRONG. The oral surgeon decided as an "afterthought" to dose him orally with another 2000 mg before tooth removal. Without informing Dr. Cardi.

When we went for kidney appt. on Wednesday , Dr. Cardi found out that double the dose had been given and I could tell that he was not pleased at all. But he is such a gentleman that he did not throw a fit , unlike Kidneygurl who did just that early Thursday a.m. when I called the surgeon's office to ask questions and let him have it because I am down-to-my-last kidney and gawddammit I am sick of having to check and double check things only to find that some people just do what they want to do with no regard to the transplant dr's instructions. I also told him that I didn't appreciate having to stand and wait afterwards to pay the bill while secretary continued her personal drama conversation on telephone, even turning her back away from the window, guess she thought I would just leave.

THEN Richard gets into a snit and calls me a "redneck" for yelling at tooth guy . Yes, you read that right and aintitabitch to save somebody's life and try to look out for them.

My technique has changed because of this past week. I will now ask any outside office to FAX confirmation of anything they tell me they are doing to Dr. Cardi's office so there are no "afterthoughts" from them. Transplant patients can have damage done from drugs that are given outside the transplant dr's approval and I have read of such cases on the net and learned from them. I will continue to speak up and if it offends anybody and they feel that I am stepping on their toes, let'em get steel toed shoes and by the way what blood type are they and would they like to donate a kidney if they screwup this one?

Okay, I am done and this "redneck" is gonna take a rest, watch a movie on HBO , "My House In Umbria", a few more episodes of the first season of "Sopranos" and relax a little this weekend.

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!