Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jun. 03, 2004 - 10:46 P.M.

Long time no write in Diary --new challenge presented itself : Dr. Cardi told us that Richard has thrombophilia which is a disorder in which the blood clots easily or excessively. So he will be on blood thinner for the rest of his life.

Also has a condition called hyperhomocysteinemia which he is treating with vitamin B6 (pyridoxine), and vitamin B12 (cobalamin) to reduce homocysteine levels.

Lab work is done often and since blood can only be drawn in his right arm because of the fistula in left arm, he can look like a bruised junkie if the phlebotomist doesn't use a butterfly needle. And LabOne Inc , based in Kansas, who bought the medical testing division of the Health Alliance this year and named the new subsidiary Lab Alliance has a shortage of butterflies. I will update on the status after bloodwork on Monday ( today I had a "chat" with somebody in Kansas about the situation ) . Hope I don't have to get out my red shoes and Toto to get some action. But if I do, I do.

I am looking forward to the Finale of The Sopranos on Sunday. Now that's what I call family! They are Italian American, but anyone of any ethnic background who has survived and flourished in spite of, or even because of, a dysfunctional family will find the messages in each episode universal.

Speaking of families, My Mom has a big old kidney stone stuck in left ureter and was in hospital for 2 days. So I am the Good daughter for now because I have a big mouth and help when she is sick.

We fight at the top of our lungs but G_d help anybody who messes with The Family.

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!