Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Dec. 18, 2003 - 11:21 A.M.

Guest Entry By Kidneygurl's husband:

Dear Santa,

What about the little people who are not a rich and famous basketball player ? Will they be forgotten or will the hundreds of offers of a kidney for Alonzo Mourning be referred to them so they get a chance at life? I suffer from the same disease - focal glomerulosclerosis - that he does, but that is all we have in common. I am not rich or famous. I did not have scores of people volunteering to be tested as a donor for me.

To be politically correct, they refer to a "no way , Jose " as "an unsuitable donor" , which translated means they can't make anyone be tested or donate. I saw a lot of that in my large family-of-origin. I got a kidney from my wife in October, 2002. I was on dialysis for 1 1/2 years before that. If my wife had not pushed things along it would not have happened. If the other prospective donors disappear after he has his transplant tomorrow, then we will know that it is all about M-O-N-E-Y as my bro-in-law told us before my transplant.

So please be extra nice to living organ donors and the families of deceased donors who gave the gift of Life.

Richard Uible, Transplant Recipient and Lucky Husband of Kidneygurl

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!