Get your ow
n diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Apr. 29, 2003 - 10:54 P.M.

It has been 6 months since The Kidney Transplant.

That night on October 29th , lying in my hospital bed, patch covering one eye , I remember realizing that I had survived - I hadn't died in the surgery, my husband made it through and hopefully would be FREE from kidney failure with my kidney. I was going to have to tear up all the Final Letters I wrote to Those I Am Related To By Blood and left in a shoebox at home with a postie note :"To be opened if I croak" .

I wanted to yell "We Made It , YIPEE" but instead I was silent in a morphine induced state of no pain, just floating thoughts.

Remembering another time 35 years ago in another hospital in another era, when I gave birth to my first and last out of wedlock illegitimate son, eyes covered by a towel by Those Who Knew Best so I would not see the baby , because that baby would not be mine for long.

There was a hole in my heart for all those years until I found him ( don't ask, it's too long to go into now) --and now , a realization that I was once again a Giver of Life.

I don't know exactly what I am trying to say, but if , as you are reading this, you have a lump in your throat and a tear in your eye like I do, I got it right. Yes, the girl who screwed up her whole life but in the end "She made it, YIPEE!

And you can too.

I know. Hey, lighten up, congratulate us on our 6 month anniversary and wave to the monkey ! ( Or if you just stumbled on this page and are clueless about the whole thing, go to the link below to read my diary from the first entry , I will be back soon, going to take a little break , catch my breath and swallow my spit! ))

Monkey In A Teacup ~ The Beginning of Our Kidney Transplant Diary

previous

next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!